schliessen
(0) Artikel im Warenkorb
Sie haben keine Artikel im Korb.
Sortiment
    Filters
    Preferences
    Suchen

    The Dangers of Smoking in Bed von Enriquez, Mariana

    Stories
    “The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery” (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.

    Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken—fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history—with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls can’t let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.
     
    Written against the backdrop of contemporary Argentina, and with a resounding tenderness toward those in pain, in fear, and in limbo, The Dangers of Smoking in Bed is Mariana Enriquez at her most sophisticated, and most chilling.­­­­“After you’ve lived in Mariana Enriquez’­s marvelous brain for the time it takes to read The Dangers of Smoking in Bed, the known world feels ratcheted a few degrees off-center. Enriquez’s stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling.”—Lauren Groff, author of Fates and Furies
     
    “Rotting little ghosts, heartbeat fetishes, curses and witches and meat: Each of these stories is a luscious, bewitching nightmare. Each one builds up a steady, thrilling dread—until the final lines, when the true horror is revealed. I adore this book.”—Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers
     
    “I loved these twisted tales, these lustful whispers in the dark. There is some serious power in this writing.”—Daisy Johnson, author of Sisters
    Autor Enriquez, Mariana / McDowell, Megan
    Verlag Random House N.Y.
    Einband Fester Einband
    Erscheinungsjahr 2021
    Seitenangabe 208 S.
    Meldetext Lieferbar in ca. 20-45 Arbeitstagen
    Ausgabekennzeichen Englisch
    Coverlag Hogarth (Imprint/Brand)
    Fester Einband
    Lieferbar in ca. 20-45 Arbeitstagen
    978-0-593-13407-8
    Fr. 25.50

    Über den Autor Enriquez, Mariana

    Mariana Enriquez is a writer and editor based in Buenos Aires, where she contributes to a number of newspapers and literary journals, both fiction and nonfiction.

    Weitere Titel von Enriquez, Mariana